The Alliance Africa Regional Board and Staff


The Alliance President

Mr. Stanley Muchiri (Kenya)

Mr Muchiri was ratified as the ICA Vice-President and The Alliance Africa President by the ICA General Assembly in Oslo in September 2003. Mr Muchiri is currently Chairman of the Co-operative Bank of Kenya. Mr Muchiri studied administration, bookkeeping and management at the Co-operative College of Kenya. He obtained a certificate in co-operative administration and is a certified public accountant. He also has a diploma in co-operative management from Turin, Italy and attended the University of Wisconsin (USA). He most recently held the postition of General Manager at Muranga Union. He also serves as the Chairman of Co-operative Alliance of Kenya [formerly Kenya National Federation of Co-operatives (KNFC).

Mr. Japheth Magomere (Kenya)

Mr. Japheth Anavila Magomere is a member of the Board. Currently he is the Director representing Nairobi Region, Private Sector based societies. He has been the Chairman of CIC Insurance Group Limited since 2004. Mr. Magomere is also a Board Member of several schools. He has been a Delegate of Co-operative Holdings (the anchor shareholder of Co-operative Bank) since 1986 and is a Member of the Institute of Directors Kenya. He serves as the Vice Chairman of Co-operative Alliance of Kenya [formerly Kenya National Federation of Co-operatives (KNFC)], Honorable Secretary Maisha Bora Sacco since 1984 and also a Council member of East African Farmers Federation since 2008.  Mr. Magomere is the current Chairman of the National Council for Ushirika Day Celebrations. He was honoured with the Order of the Grand Warrior of Kenya (“OGW”) in 2009.

Mr. Salia Mahamane (Niger)

Since 1997, Mr. Mahamane has been at the forefront in promotion and defending the smallholder agriculture.He joined the Federation of Vegetable Growers as Secretary General of Tillabéry branch, in 2008. Due to his continuous commitment, he became the National Treasurer of the same organization from March 2009 to April 2012. Over the same period, he occupied the position of Deputy Treasurer of the National Network of Farmer’s Organization, the ever largest and biggest farmers’ organization in the country. Since April 2012, he has served as the national president of FCMN-Niya ( Federation de Co-operatives Maraicheres du Niger ).

Mr. Mike Duru (Zimbabwe)

Mr Mike Duru is the President of Zimbabwe National Association of Housing Co-operatives. He is a teacher by profession,having acquired a degree in  Bachelor of Science  in Physical Education and Sport Management. Mr. Duru has experience in cooperative movement for 17years in different portfolios.Founded our Mutare District Housing Cooperative Union in 2002, and Zimbabwe National Association of Housing Cooperatives( ZINAHCO) IN 2002 and its president currently.Work for Housing People Of  Zimbabwe, Non Actors' Forum,a grassroot organisation and Practical Action Southern Africa. I am the current President of Zimbabwe National Cooperative Federation,country  Apex for all cooperative sectors,current Southern Africa ICA members  board member representing them at Africa level,a board member on the country's Housing Directors' Forum representing housing Cooperatives in the country and board member on Climate change National Council.
Lobbied government and got 30% land allocation to cooperatives on every land given to residents,as a policy, successfully got a grant from WE EFFECT to build 27 houses for eldery in Mutare,helped 150 orphans on food and school fees and participated in the production of our country' s National Housing Policy.

Alliance Africa Youth President

Ms. Hilda Ojall (Kenya)

Hilda was born in a co-operative family and developed a great admiration and inspiration in working with youth and youth member owned institutions. Currently working with The Kenya Union of Savings and Credit Co-operatives Ltd under Risk Management Services, Hilda is a certified Credit Union Development Educator (ADE). She has completed the D.E program, and is an educator of Credit Union / Saccos addressing different issues across Africa that affect Saccos and specifically youth. Hilda is also currently working on a youth mentorship program and is a member of the Alliance Youth Network Executive Committee.

Secretary to the Board and Regional Director

Dr. Chiyoge Buchekabiri Sifa (DRC)

Dr Chiyoge Buchekabiri Sifa is from the Democratic Republic of Congo. Her experience with co-operative movement dates back to the 1990s when she was working as management trainee with the Central Co-operative for Savings and Credits (COCCEC-KIVU) in Bukavu, Zaire. More recently, she was engaged with the movement in developing strategic plan for co-operatives in Kenya, as deputy director in charge of co-operative capacity building and training with the Department of Economic Development and Tourism (DEDT) in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. Most recently, she was director, Cooperatives Program at the Ethiopian Agricultural Transformation agency (ATA) in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. In that capacity, she spearheaded the development of a five-year sector development strategy for agricultural cooperatives in Ethiopia that entailed consultations with diverse range of stakeholders.

She hold PhD in Strategic Management from University of Nairobi  and has taught for more than five years at various universities within Africa where she was involved in both administrative and academic duties as member of the senate, chair of the MBA program and external examiner for MBA projects. Before joining academia, she worked with both private and public organizations at various levels from both for profit making and non-profit making enterprises across industries and countries.

Regional Office

1.    Dr. Chiyoge Buchekabiri Sifa          -    Regional Director

2.    Dr. Rose Karimi                              -    Project Manager

3.    Ms. Salome Wavinya Kimeu          -    Finance and Administration Manager

4.    Mr. Japheth Kiganili Onyango         -    Support Staff

5.    Mr. Erick Monda Obongo                -     Research Officer

6.    Mr. Geoffrey Asira                            -   Communication and IT Assistant

7.    Mr. Joseph Macharia Njuguna         -   Policy Assistant