Mr. Labaran Elected as the 2nd ICA-Africa Youth President.

07 Nov 2022


We take this opportunity to introduce to you the newly elected ICA-Africa Youth Network President Mr. Abubakar Sadiq Labaran. Mr. Labaran was elected as the 2nd President of ICA-Africa Youth Network in a by-election that took place during the Members' Forum on 16th October, 2022 in Cairo-Egypt. He will now fill the position of Youth Representative in the ICA-Africa Regional Board.

Labaran Started engaging with cooperative as a Liaison Officer at Endwell Teachers Cooperative Multipurpose Society in Niger State. Due to his commitment and passion for agriculture, he was sponsored by his employer to have his first-degree education at African University of Technology and Management, Benin Republic. He graduated in 2016 with First Class Honour in Animal Production and rejoined the employer as a Farm Manager.  

In 2018, he joined the Young Farmers Association of Nigeria. While as member of the association, he pioneered the formation where young farmers are able to support each other in the field of agriculture i.e., crop, poultry and livestock production. As a result of his involvement in the Cooperative Movement in Niger State, he was nominated in 2018 by the Cooperative Federation of Nigeria to represent the country in a training course held in Malaysia and Japan titled Fostering and Improvising Management of Agriculture in Africa. As action point of the training, he organized training for farmers in Niger State at the end of 2018.  

His knack for development of the Cooperative Movement was recognized and rewarded by young farmers in Niger, therefore, he was elected as the President of Young Farmers Association of Nigeria, Niger State Chapter. He was equally elected as the Chairman of Niger East Young Farmers Club. 

He has participated in several cooperative trainings, seminars and conferences held internationally, nationally and locally. He was Panelist at a youth forum organized by Cooperative Federation of Nigeria. He is presently the Youth representative of Cooperative Federation of Nigeria.